April 03, 2007

Yet another tale of drunken zamboni driving

This one with a happier ending:

Judge: DWI doesn't count on a Zamboni

Sure he was legally drunk, but he was only driving a Zamboni.

So a judge in New Jersey has restored John Peragallo's driving privileges.

Peragallo was charged with drunken driving in 2005 after a co-worker at the Mennen Sports Arena in Morristown told police Peragallo was speeding, and that he nearly crashed the ice-sweeping machine into the boards.

Tests revealed Peragallo's blood alcohol level was above the legal limit in New Jersey.

He appealed his license suspension, and Judge Joseph Falcone agreed. Falcone ruled that the four-ton Zamboni isn't a motor vehicle because it can't be driven on a highway or carry passengers.

No penalty box for this sport.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home